The Greater Bank WRAS Netball program provides high performance coaching and training opportunities to up-skill athletes and assist them in progressing to higher representation within the sport of netball.

The program is endorsed by Netball NSW and provides talented netballers the opportunity to grow as netballers and people within the framework of Netball Australia’s Develop a Diamond program.

The program sits between local representative netball and higher order representation such as NSW state team selection.

The 2021 netball program will run from late January 2021 to October 2021 and athletes will graduate from the program at the 2021 Presentation Night.  Nominations to trial will open on 13 October 2020.  Phase 1 trials will be held on 14 and 15 November 2020

Nominations for the WRAS 2021 Netball Program are now open for netball athletes turning 14, 15 or 16 in 2021.

Age eligible athletes must attend one Phase 1 trials – in Dubbo on 14 November 2020 OR Bathurst on 15 November 2020.

Phase 2 final selection trial will be held in Orange on 29 November.  Phase 2 trial is by invitation only.

Athletes wanting to be considered for selection should read Netball – background information for nominating athletes before completing the online nomination form.

Nominations to trial will close at 9am on Thursday 5 November 2020.

Please contact the WRAS office for further information.

To be eligible for selection in the 2021 program athletes must:

  • be turning 14, 15 or 16 years old in 2021
  • be living or attending school in the WRAS catchment area
  • be a current financial member of their local association and Netball NSW
  • submit a nomination form before the closing date and attend a phase 1 trial day.

The following selection criteria may be taken into consideration during the selection process:

  • Physical attributes and capabilities
  • Technical competence
  • Tactical awareness
  • Potential to improve
  • Competitive ability
  • Individual application
  • Performance and results at specific events
  • Coachability and behaviour
  • Intensive training sessions by local elite coaches
  • Skill development
  • Inter-Academy Development camps
  • Strength and conditioning/Injury prevention screenings and programs
  • Sports science fitness testing
  • Educational seminars
  • Opportunities to compete in elite events such as the Your Local Club Academy Games

Head Coach – Linda Macleod

Squad Athletes

2021 athletes will be announced after Phase 2 trials have been completed in late November 2020