The WRAS program provides high performance coaching and training opportunities to up-skill athletes and assist them in progressing to higher representation within the sport of hockey.

The WRAS hockey program is endorsed by Hockey NSW as the underpinning development pathway for the Hockey NSW Athlete Acceleration Program (AAP).

The program sits between local representative hockey and higher order representation such as NSW state country team selection and AAP selection.

The 2023 hockey program will run from October 2022 to April 2023. Athletes will graduate from the program at the 2023 Presentation Night in August.

Nominations for the 2023 Hockey Program have now closed. To register your interest in the 2024 program please click here.

To be eligible for selection in the 2023 program athletes must:

  • be turning 16, 17 or 18 years old in 2023
  • be living or attending school in the WRAS catchment area
  • be a current financial member of their local association and Hockey NSW
  • submit a nomination form before the closing date
  • attend the scheduled trial day

The following selection criteria may be taken into consideration during the selection process:

  • Physical attributes and capabilities
  • Technical competence
  • Tactical awareness
  • Potential to improve
  • Competitive ability
  • Individual application
  • Performance and results at specific events
  • Coachability and behaviour
  • Intensive training sessions by local elite coaches
  • Skill development
  • Inter-Academy Development camps
  • Injury prevention screenings and strength and conditioning training programs
  • Sports science fitness testing
  • Educational seminars

Opportunities to compete in elite events such as the Your Local Club Academy Games


Head Coach: Kent Bestwick (Bathurst)
Assistant Coach: Sarah White (Bathurst)
Apprentice Coach: Luke Abbott (Bathurst)
Manager: Ian McAlister (Orange)

Girls Squad
Sophia Burke (Bathurst)
Chloe Clark (Dubbo)
Holly Duncan (Parkes)
Tayla Grabham (Bathurst)
Arabella Harvey (Orange)
Amelia Heath (Orange)
Georgia Milligan (Bathurst)
Tahlia O’Connell (Bathurst)
Elsie Orr (Parkes)
Ellie Parker (Peak Hill)
Kelsie Richards (Mount Rankin)
Morgan Still (Bathurst)
Zoe Tattersall (Cargo)
Elly Thornberry (Parkes)
Brianna Weal (Bathurst)
Lauren Weal (Bathurst)
Philippa Webb (Bathurst)
Giaan Willott (Bathurst)
Zoe Wood (Cudal)

Boys Squad
Zayden Berger (Dubbo)
Oliver Bestwick (Bathurst)
Angus Coddington (Dubbo)
Mark Jachi (Orange)
Blake Livingstone (Wallerawang)
Ashton McDonald (Wallerawang)
Nicholas McPherson (Bogan Gate)
Seth Norris (Bathurst)
Kade O’Connell (Bathurst)
Deklin Unsworth (Lidsdale)