The WRAS program provides high performance coaching and training opportunities to up-skill athletes and assist them in progressing to higher representation within the sport of triathlon.

The WRAS Triathlon program is endorsed by Triathlon NSW, the program provides development opportunities for athletes in areas of technical skill, education, strength & conditioning and personal development preparing athletes for the next level of elite sport representation.

The 2023 Triathlon Program will run from September 2022 to April 2023. Athletes from this program will graduate at the 2023 Presentation Evening in August.

Nominations for the 2023 Triathlon program have now closed. To register your interest in the 2024 program please click here

Please wait...

To be eligible for selection in the 2023 program athletes must: 

  • be turning 13-19 years old in 2023 (ie born in 2004-2010)
  • be living or attending school in the WRAS catchment area
  • be a current financial member of their local club and Triathlon NSW
  • submit a nomination form before the closing date
  • be committed to progressing to higher levels of representation within the sport of Triathlon

The following selection criteria may be taken into consideration during the selection process: 

Physical attributes and capabilities
Technical competence
Tactical awareness
Potential to improve
Competitive ability
Individual application
Performance and results at specific events
Coachability and behaviour

  • Intensive training sessions by local elite coaches
  • Skill development
  • Inter-Academy Development camps
  • Injury prevention screenings and training programs
  • Sports science fitness testing
  • Educational seminars
  • Opportunities to compete in elite events such as the Your Local Club Academy Games

Head Coach
Rory Thornhill (Orange)

Assistant Coach
Tristan Harrison (Orange)

Angus Argent-Smith (Rankins Springs)
Sam Bayada (Orange)
George Hogg (Orange)
Halle Potter (Mudgee)
Will Robinson (Orange)
Flynn Wolfe (Bathurst)