The WRAS program provides high performance coaching and training opportunities to up-skill athletes and assist them in progressing to higher representation within the sport of AFL.

The WRAS AFL program is endorsed by AFL NSW/ACT as the first step in the elite athlete pathway and represents the female talent pathway for the Western Region.

The program sits between local representative AFL and higher order representation such as NSW state team selection or AFL Academy programs.

The 2019 AFL program will run from November 2018 to April 2019 with program trials to be held in October 2018. Athletes will graduate from the program at the 2019 Presentation Night in August.

Nominations for the 2019 AFL Program will open October 2018.

To be eligible for selection in the 2019 program athletes must:

  • be born in 2003, 2004 or 2005
  • be living or attending school in the WRAS catchment area
  • be a current financial member of their local association and/or AFL NSW/ACT
  • submit a nomination form before the closing date and attend the scheduled trial day

The following selection criteria may be taken into consideration during the selection process:

  • Physical attributes and capabilities
  • Technical competence
  • Tactical awareness
  • Potential to improve
  • Competitive ability
  • Individual application
  • Performance and results at specific events
  • Coachability and behaviour


  • Intensive training sessions by local elite coaches
  • Skill development
  • Inter-Academy Development camps
  • Strength and conditioning/Injury prevention screenings and programs
  • Sports science fitness testing
  • Educational seminars
  • Opportunities to compete in elite events such as the Your Local Club Academy Games


Head Coach – Luke Le Page (Cowra)
Assistant Coach – Steve Mann (Bathurst)
Manager – TBC

Bridget Annand (Bathurst)
Tobi Casey (Cowra)
Amelia Chapman (Bathurst)
Isabel Crosland-Hamer (Bathurst)
Sophie Dixon (Bathurst)
Mikelli Garratt (Cowra)
Elizabeth Gibson (Orange)
Eloise Hiller-Stanbrook (Dubbo)
Mikaela Kingham (Bathurst)
Molly Mann (Bathurst)
Sara Matthews (Bathurst)
Leah Muller (Bathurst)
Erin Naden (Orange)
Libby Noonan (Warren)
Dakota Nugent (Bathurst)
Tess Roberts (Cowra)
Ellie Silk (Young)
Hailey Spirit-Jones (Four Mile Creek)
Molly Storer (Warren)
Tara Trindall (Bathurst)