Trialists taking directions from Head Coach Kent Bestwick (right) and Assistant Coach Neil Howard (left)

In an exciting step for 2021, the Western Region Academy of Sport (WRAS) has selected its Hockey squad for the upcoming program.

A strong squad has been picked with 19 female athletes and 7 male athletes selected. Following the trials at the Bathurst hockey Complex, Head Coach of the WRAS hockey program Kent Bestwick said he was thrilled to again have an opportunity to help a fresh crop of future stars achieve their sporting goals.

“To again be involved in helping these young athletes strive for excellence is really exciting. The squad we have chosen for 2021 has a lot of potential and Niel (Assistant Coach for the Hockey Program) and myself can’t wait to see what these athletes will achieve over the coming months.”

Following the announcement of the squad, WRAS Executive Officer Candice Boggs said all the athletes should be extremely proud of themselves.

“It is never easy trialing for a sport in any sports team. let alone trialing after such a difficult year. All the athletes should be extremely proud of how well they preformed during trials and we are very eager to see what the squad can achieve in 2021. The amount of talent the athletes have, combined with the coaching expertise that Kent and Niel bring to the program, should be an amazing combination for growth for everyone involved.”

Below is the full list of athletes selected in the 2021 WRAS Hockey Program:

Samantha Brown (Bathurst)
Chloe Carty (Parkes)
Addison Chapman (Orange)
Alexandra Cook (Orange)
Jessika Day-Stephen (Bathurst)
Paige Duncan (Parkes)
Sophie Goodall (Orange)
Jessica Healey (Orange)
Taylah Larkings (Parkes)
Cait Maguire (Orange)
Clare Mawhood (Oberon)
Madalyn McLean (Lithgow)
Jordan Moody (Parkes)
Phoebe Poole (Orange)
Chloe Robertson (Cowra)
Meg Turner (Parkes)
Kelsey Webb (Bathurst)
Kelsie Whyte (Wallerawang)
Hayley Willott (Bathurst)

Tyler Baillie (Bathurst)
Riley Burridge (Orange)
Kallum Jenkins (Lithgow)
Cody Kirk (Parkes)
James Luck (Lithgow)
Ruben Martin-Clark (Bathurst)
Ashton McDonald (Lithgow)
Evan McMullen (Dubbo)