WRAS Presentation Evening – 20 August 2016

WRAS Presentation Evening

The Western Region Academy of Sport (WRAS) held their annual Awards Night at Orange Ex Services Club on Saturday 20 August celebrating 25 years of WRAS. The evening recognised the significant achievements of WRAS athletes, the hard working squad staff and the other valuable supporters and volunteers. Close to 200 guests were in attendance.

2BS/B-Rock’s Phil Cole was awarded Life Membership to WRAS for his ongoing contribution to the organisation over many years.  Phil also entertained our guests as Master of Ceremony for the night.

Past WNBL player Brook McInnes joined the function as guest speaker. Brook spoke about her start as a junior within the regional academy system at the Hunter Academy of Sport. Brook played with the Sydney Flames winning a WNBL championship in 2000.

The Chairman’s Award was presented to dual WRAS scholarship holder (cycling and triathlon), Emily Watts of Hartley.

Dylan Eather of Dubbo (Cycling) was awarded the 2016 WRAS athlete of the year. Some of Dylan’s achievements over the past 12 months have included: a bronze medal in the U15 division at the National Junior Track Championship, one gold one silver and three bronze medals at the NSW Track Championships and selection into the NSW U15 Men’s team to compete at the National Road Championships in September 2016.

The Squad Athletes of the Year were:

Basketball                       Clary Annis-Brown (Lucknow)
Cycling                             Dylan Eather (Dubbo)
Golf                                   Mitchell Bourne (Dubbo)
Individual                       Connor Whiteley (Orange)
Netball                             India Johnson (Cowra)
Rugby 7’s                        Lillyann Mason-Spice (Forbes)
Triathlon                         Charlotte Simmons (Orange)

The ‘Sportsco Bathurst Coach of the Year’ was awarded to WRAS cycling head coach Toireasa Gallagher (Bathurst).  Michelle Ensor of Dubbo was named the ‘Collin’s Office Choice Supporter of the Year’.

The Strength and Conditioning awards went to Cooper Nagy (Bathurst), Luke Ensor (Dubbo), Ben Mackey (Bathurst), John Terry (Cowra), Ella Lewis (Blayney), Jakiya Whitfeld (Bathurst) and Charlotte Simmons (Orange).

Two athletes were announced to attend a Parliamentary Reception in Sydney on 23 September.  The Regional Academies of Sport Parliamentary function recognises the achievements of Regional Academy athletes across NSW. The athletes named to represent WRAS are Emily Watts (Hartley) and Eliza Mills (Orange).

WRAS has been operating in the Western Region since 1991, supporting the region’s talented sportspeople.

You may also like...