WRAS Hockey athletes dominate School Representative teams

Members of the WRAS hockey program have again excelled in their sport with no less than 8 girls being selected in the NSW U16 Girls All Schools teams.  Casey Hunter (Lithgow) and Amelia Leard (Lithgow) were both selected in the NSW 1 team, while Rachel Divall (Orange), Andrea Gillard (Lithgow), Rene Hunter (Lithgow), Jessica Watterson (Bathurst), Emily Williams (Lithgow) and Kate Wilson (Orange) were selected in the NSW 2 team. Both teams will compete at the Sport Australia Girl’s U16 Hockey Championships to be held in Newcastle from 13-20 August.

Meanwhile, WRAS will also be well represented at the NSW Combined High School (CHS) girls’ hockey championships being held next week 7-9 June at Newcastle with 6 current athletes competing for the Western Region CHS team.  Current squad members Jessica and Sarah Watterson (Bathurst), Rachel Divall (Orange), Madison Boyce (Bathurst), Tamika Bostock (Lithgow), Beth McGrath (Lithgow) and graduate WRAS athlete Mahala Williams (Lithgow) will be looking to improve on the team’s fourth placing in 2010.

The above success of the WRAS hockey squad follows on from the selection in May of current squad members Jack Elliott (Parkes), Nick Kelly (Parkes) and graduate WRAS athlete Tim Eslick (Orange) who were selected in the 2011 NSW CHS boys hockey team that will play a tri-series against the NSW Combined Independent Schools and NSW Combined Catholic Colleges sides on 24 June.

Earlier in the year current squad members Darcy Davis (Bathurst), Michael Dillon (Orange) and graduate WRAS athlete Jack Eckford (Dubbo) were also selected in the NSW All Schools Hockey Secondary Hockey Boys 16 Years and Under Squad.

You may also like...