WRAS Presentation Evening

The Western Region Academy of Sport (WRAS) held its annual presentation evening at Panthers Bathurst on Saturday 19 August.  The evening recognised the substantial achievements of WRAS athletes, the hard working squad staff and the other valuable supporters and volunteers.

Master of Ceremony for the evening was Mr Phil Cole, WRAS Life Member and General Manager, 1503 2BS Gold/B-Rock.

The 250 guests in attendance were delighted by Special Guest Speaker, Susan Pettitt (Australian Diamond, NSW Swift and a current member of the Giants Netball team that competed in this year’s Suncorp SuperNetball grand final).

Tyler Puzicha of Bathurst (cyclist) was awarded the WRAS 2017 athlete of the year (sponsored by CSU School of Sport Exercise Science and Health).  In her first year in the U15s age group Tyler was selected in the NSW team to compete at the Australian Junior Track Championships.  Tyler excelled at this tournament winning three Gold medals and now holds two Australian records after breaking the U15 womens flying 200m and standing 500m.

The Chairman’s Award for Excellence was presented to cyclist, Kalinda Robinson of O’Connell.  Kalinda not only excels at a high level in her sport, she is committed to her education and music endeavours.  Kalinda also gives back to her sport by mentoring junior cyclists.

The Squad Athletes of the Year (highest achiever in their sport) were:

Basketball – Shane David (Bathurst)
Cycling – Tyler Puzicha (Bathurst)
Golf  – Cameron McMillan (Forbes)
Hockey – Henry Jones (Orange)
Individual – Jakiya Whitfeld (O’Connell)
Para-Sports – Jack Connors (Orange)
Netball – Sophie Brisbane (Orange)

The Coach’s Award recipients (for the most dedicate or improved athlete) were:

Basketball – Taneka Todhunter (Dubbo)
Cycling – Luke Tuckwell (Orange)
Golf – Cameron Jackson (Bathurst)
Hockey – Millah Allcorn (Orange)
Netball – Amy Belfanti (Bathurst)

The ‘Sportsco Bathurst Coach of the Year’ was awarded to WRAS netball head coach Linda Macleod from Mudgee.

Craig Harvey of Orange was named the ‘Collin’s Office Choice Volunteer of the Year’.

The Hon. Paul Toole MP, Member for Bathurst, representing the NSW Minister for Sport, announced the two athletes that will attend a Parliamentary Reception in Sydney on 19 September.  They are Tyler Puzicha (Bathurst) and Jack Connors (Orange)

The Western Region Academy of Sport – ‘Where Regional Athletes Success’.

You may also like...